Lynn Hoopingarner Confirmed as Planning Commission Member

WeHo Mayor Lauren Meister confirmed at last night’s City Council meeting that Lynn Hoopingarner would be her new appointee to the Planning Commission, replacing Sheila Lightfoot, who resigned after two years on the commission.

The Planning Commission is arguably the most important of the city’s 15 advisory boards and commissions, given its role in reviewing proposed plans for new real estate developments, which are a controversial issue in West Hollywood.

West hollywood planning commission
Lynn Hoopingarner (Facebook)

A business consultant and researcher, Hoopingarner is active in the West Hollywood North Neighborhood Association and is well versed in zoning/planning issues, having spoken at City Council and Planning Commission meetings over the years about issues concerning her neighborhood.

The City Council opted on Monday not to vote on at-large appointees to any of the city’s boards and commissions, preferring instead to wait until each Council member names his or her direct appointments before filling the at-large seats.

Councilmember Lindsey Horvath said she would not be making any of her appointments until June, but the other four Council members did name some of theirs.

Meister appointed communication consultant Chris Bowen to the Public Facilities Commission and housing consultant Agassi Topchian to the Rent Stabilization Commission. She named visually impaired musician David Nash to the Disabilities Advisory Board and TV/film director Samantha Lavin to the Lesbian and Gay Advisory Board. Meister reappointed all of her other commissioners and board members.

Councilmember John Duran continued most of his appointees, but moved several to different boards. Keith Anthony moves from Historic Preservation Commission to the Business License Commission, while Garrett Charity moves from Business License Commission to Rent Stabilization Commission. Duran left his direct appointee to Historic Preservation open for now. He also named James Fraiser to the Lesbian and Gay Advisory Board. Duran had previously named architect Rogerio Carvalheiro to Planning Commission.

Councilmember John Heilman also continued most of his appointees. He named TV/film producer Carla Roma, who ran for City Council in the March 2017 election, to fill his vacant slot on the Women’s Advisory Board. He has yet to name anyone to Historic Preservation Commission or to the Senior Advisory Board.

Councilmember John D’Amico reappointed all of his commissioners and board members.
West Hollywood’s commissions are made up of seven members – five direct council appointees and two at-large appointees. The city’s advisory boards are made up of nine members – five direct council appointees and four at-large appointees. The city’s Lesbian and Gay Advisory Board is made up of ten members, all direct council appointees (one male and one female per council member).

At-large appointees require the votes of a majority of council members before they can join a commission or board. All appointments are for two-year terms, ending on May 31, 2019.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 years ago

Why did Sheila leave?

Jimmy Palmieri
5 years ago

Congrats to the new appointees. FYI—Weho is a thriving CITY….not a cobblestone village.

5 minute limit on any point!
5 minute limit on any point!
5 years ago

you might want to bring dinner and desert to the meetings because its going to drag on an on and on..

Virginia Gillick
Virginia Gillick
5 years ago

Congratulations, Lynn and thank you for being willing to devote your time to our City.

Woody McBreairty
Woody McBreairty
5 years ago

Cngrats Lynn. You’re the best. (Nice pic)

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x