Application Period for Lambda Literary Awards Closes on Feb. 23


The period for applying for Lambda Literary‘s Jeanne Córdova Prize for Lesbian Nonfiction and for the Judith A. Markowitz Award for Emerging LGBTQ Writers ends on Feb. 23.

The Jeanne Córdova Prize for Lesbian Nonfiction is an award made in memory of the lesbian activist and author and honors lesbian and lesbian-identified queer authors. The award will go to a writer committed to nonfiction work that captures the depth and complexity of lesbian life, culture and/or history.

The winner of the prize will have published at least one book and show promise in continuing to produce groundbreaking and challenging work. The award includes a cash prize of $2,500. Applicants can submit their applications online.

The Judith A. Markowitz Award honors LGBTQ-identified writers whose work demonstrates their strong potential for promising careers. Two Emerging LGBTQ Writer prizes will be presented, each with a cash prize of $1,000. Emergent writers are those who have published at least one but no more than two books of fiction, nonfiction or poetry. Last year’s winners were H Melt and Victor Yates. Applications for this award also can be submitted online.

Applicants for both prizes may be self-nominated or nominated by another member of the community. Lambda Literary will be accepting applications for both prizes until midnight on Feb. 23.


Those with questions are asked to email them to

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x